CSA Share, Week One, Day Five

Now that it is only two more days until I pick up my share for this week, I am thinking about preserving anything that I don’t think I’ll get to.  So, I washed the turnip greens, put them in a labeled bag, and put them in the freezer.  I will be using them this winter in my Crockpot Greens and Beans (recipe coming soon).

I had the leftover salad for lunch today, with chopped turnips and some herbs.  The kids had some raw turnip sticks.  For dinner, I am making steamed turnips tossed with butter, salt, pepper, and maybe some herbs.  And, I spun up another lettuce/spinach salad tonight to eat with my homemade vinaigrette, which uses some of the garlic scapes (recipe coming soon, too).  I used the chocolate mint leaves throughout the day in my water glass…very refreshing.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I’m very interested in what you did with the turnip greens – just washed them and but them in a bag in the freezer? Will that work? That would be great as I often have greens but I was under the impression that I have to cook them. I do end up making stock periodically when I have too many veggies.

    Reply

    • Yes, I ended up doing this with all my greens (kale, collards, beet greens, mizuna, etc) at the end of the season last year, since processing my weekly veggies was getting very old and I didn’t have the energy to blanch them, and of course didn’t want to heat up my kitchen either! Then in the winter/early spring, I just took them out and put them in my crockpot for the Crockpot Greens and Beans, and it turned out great every time. Since they’re frozen, it’s easy to crush them up just a bit before putting them in the crockpot. Since blanching slows the loss of flavors, color and texture for veggies, I will do it if I’m not pressed for time that week. But to tell you the truth, my frozen greens tasted very good in a slow-cooked recipe.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

