CSA Share, Week Two, Day Two

Today I froze up the turnip greens, as well as half of the bunch of spinach.  That leaves just enough spinach to eat until my next pickup day.  Lunch was the leftover bok choy stirfry.  For dinner, I made chicken salad sandwiches to which I added the garlic chives and some garlic scapes.   I also cut up and boiled all the turnips and some garlic scapes, then mashed them with butter, milk, parmesan cheese, salt and pepper.  I wasn’t sure if we’d like this, but it turned out to be really good.  My husband thought it tasted very similar to cauliflower with cheese, and it did!   And of course we had another lettuce and spinach green salad on the side.

I found out when I took out my herb glass from the fridge that the lemon balm had turned all black.  I guess I shouldn’t put it in the fridge.  At least I think that’s why it turned black.

Leave a Reply

