Arugula Pesto

To make this pesto, I used a basil pesto recipe that I’ve had for years, and just replaced the basil with arugula.  There’s other, more complicated recipes that you can find online, but this is easy for me because I’ve been making it for years.  And, I think it’s good!

Arugula Pesto

  • bunch of arugula (about 4 ounces), washed and drained
  • 3 to 4 cloves garlic (or equivalent in garlic scapes)
  • 1/2 cup nuts (I usually use walnuts, but have also used almonds and pecans, or of course you can use pine nuts)
  • 2/3 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • Parmesan cheese (optional; I don’t usually add it)
Using a food processor (or you could try a blender), finely chop nuts and garlic.  Add arugula and continue to process.  Then add oil and salt and optional cheese.  Serve over pasta or spread onto bread or toast.
Pesto freezes very well.  I usually freeze in 1/2-cup servings.
Leave a Reply

