CSA Share for 2010 Week Five

In our share this week is SWEET CORN!  This is the earliest that I remember us getting corn.  Of course we devoured all of it for dinner tonight.  Can’t wait for more.  Lots of other great stuff too this week:

  • beets
  • zucchini
  • cucumbers
  • Winterbor kale (the curly type)
  • swiss chard
  • arugula
  • lettuce
  • sweet corn
  • pick your own herbs, including parsley

A wash and spin of the lettuce, some chard, and some of the smaller beet greens made for a good salad tonight.  Then everything else went into the fridge (but the sweet corn went into our stomachs).  Tomorrow is the day that I will really sort through things and do some freezing.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anna Barker on July 15, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    Yeah, that sweet corn is a real treat. Mike says that only one ear grows on each plant. I didn’t know that! So it takes a lot of space and a lot of effort for the farmer (especially when it’s organic) – all the more reason to treasure it! When I found out we had corn, I felt like calling my husband right from the farm. “Boil up a pot of water, honey! I’m a-comin home with corn on the cob!” We had corn and spicy chicken wraps with arugula. The sharp, nutty flavor of the arugula holds up well against most mexican spices. …Can’t wait to hear what you do with the rest!

    Reply

  2. Wow, I didn’t know that either about the corn. It’s very helpful to know that kind of thing in order to truly appreciate it. I cannot believe how much more I treasure veggies since joining the CSA, because now I more fully know what it takes to grow them. Regarding what you wrote about arugula going well with mexican spices, I’m glad I read that before I processed all my greens today because it made me set some arugula aside to keep fresh before turning the rest into pesto; I will use this saved fresh bunch in my next Black Bean Tostada Casserole. Thanks for the comment, and thanks for your interest!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

