Kale Salad

I love this recipe because I can make it in the morning, and then just leave it out and snack on it all day.  It’s another “no heating up the kitchen,” quick summertime recipe.

Photo of Kale Salad

Kale Salad

  • 2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp rice vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp honey
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • one bunch of kale (about a half pound or so), torn or sliced into bite-sized pieces
  • 2 Tbsp nuts
  • 2 Tbsp cranberries or raisins
  • parmesan cheese

Whisk together the balsamic vinegar, rice vinegar, honey, oil and salt in a large bowl.  Add kale, nuts, and cranberries/raisins.  Toss to coat (I find using my hands is the easiest way to thoroughly combine everything).  Let marinade for 20 minutes at room temperature, tossing occasionally.  Sprinkle with parmesan cheese.

I can’t remember where I first saw this recipe (maybe in our CSA newsletter from years past?), but the original called for “white” balsamic vinegar, and also to soak the cranberries/raisins in 5 Tbsp of vinegar overnight, then drain.  I’ve never done this, but if anyone tries it this way, let me know how it turns out.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Christine on July 19, 2010 at 10:31 am

    Hi Dianne! This sounds yummy; Steve and I love kale. I’ll try it sometime.
    Love your blog!
    Talk soonest,
    C-

    Reply

  2. Posted by Anna Barker on July 22, 2010 at 11:46 am

    Am eating this for lunch right now! Thanks for sharing! – I think I remember something called “Tuscan Kale Salad” in one of the old newsletters. I googled it and got all kinds of variations. Anyway, it sure is simple and sure tastes good. – AB

    Reply

  3. Posted by Wanda B on October 3, 2013 at 11:11 am

    Just made this – it’s lovely. Added feta instead if parm since that’s all I had on hand. Quick and easy, Nothing like massaging your food before eating….lol!

    Reply

Leave a comment