CSA Share for 2010 Week Seven

I was very happy to see carrots in our share this week!  Farm-fresh carrots taste so sweet and juicy, and so much better than store-bought carrots.  Also new are the Tropea onions, which are amazingly sweet when sauteed in olive oil or butter.  Here’s my complete Week Seven share list:

  • basil
  • carrots
  • corn
  • cucumbers
  • eggplant
  • kale
  • swiss chard
  • Tropea onions
  • zucchini
  • herbs

I went to tastespotting.com to find some easy ideas for what to do with the eggplant, and found a couple good ones which I’ll try this week.  Does anyone have any great eggplant recipes?

I’ve been using roasted zucchini in everything lately:  mixed in with scrambled eggs, on top of pizza, and in sandwiches.  But I think I will try baking with them today, using Paige’s recipe in this week’s newsletter for Chocolate Zucchini Muffins.  I also want to try the other recipe in the newsletter for Curried Chickpeas and Kale, which uses three of the veggies in this week’s share plus my leftover garlic scapes, so I better go and get busy!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anna Barker on July 29, 2010 at 9:09 am

    Hi D! I’ve come to look forward to reading your blog on Thursday mornings! I was particularly excited to see the eggplant in our share, because I’ve been wanting to make Persian Eggplant Appetizer from Molly Katzen’s “Vegetable Heaven.” But then, when looking for a similar recipe online to share with you, I stumbled across “Ashbury’s Aubergines,” a website dedicated solely to egpglant recipes. (Score!) This one, for antipasto skewers with PESTO dipping sauce, looks intriguing: http://www.aubergines.org/recipes.php?eggplant=10. I would want to make some substitutions, but…

    Reply

    • Hey Anna! Thanks so much for the encouraging words; I appreciate it. I checked out the eggplant website. How fun! I even did the Concentration game!!!!!!! This site is exactly what I need for ideas for this weekend. Let me know if you try that antipasto skewers recipe, and I’ll let you know Monday what I come up with.
      –Dianne

      Reply

      • Posted by Anna Barker on August 2, 2010 at 11:50 am

        Yep, had the eggplant skewers Saturday night. I’d say 4 stars – not outrageously exciting, but tasty and simple. I forgot the salami and left out the dried tomato; both of these would have added a lot more flavor. Next time! But I did love the pesto cream dipping sauce. Also, I used the same marinade with chicken breasts and took it all out to the grill. Couldn’t have been easier! (Note: of course, I marinated the chicken *separately* from the veggies, to avoid cross-contamination.) What did you do, Dianne? – AB

      • Hey Anna…glad you got to go ahead with your plan; I love it when that happens! When you check out today’s post, you’ll see that my grandiose eggplant plans did not turn out that well. But, I did discover other eggplanty tips on freezing. Anyway, I’ll have to try again next time. That pesto cream dipping sauce you mentioned sounds like it’s worth a try. Also in today’s post, check out my success with Baked Beet Chips.
        –dianne

Leave a Reply

