CSA Share, Week Seven, Day Five

Has anyone made anything with their eggplant yet?  A member suggested a very fun eggplant recipes site at Ashbury’s Aubergines.  I wanted to try one of the recipes from this site, but ran out of time last night and just ended up cubing the whole eggplant and kind of sauteing half of the cubes with onions and herbs, then putting them atop our pesto pasta.  Well, it didn’t turn out that great.  However, the leftovers were good in my lunch today, wrapped up in a large tortilla with melted cheese and fresh basil.   The other half of the cubes I blanched and froze.   However, they turned very brown, so I googled how to freeze eggplant, and next time I’ll definitely add some lemon juice as was suggested in this eHow article.

Last week, I did get to making the Chocolate Zucchini Muffins and the Curried Chickpeas with Kale.  Both recipes were given in last week’s newsletter.  They were very good, and I would definitely make them again.  The muffins were CHOCOLATE; need I say more?  For the curry dish, I used both my kale and swiss chard for the greens, and some of my Tropea onions went in, too.  I didn’t have any tomatoes that were called for in the recipe, which would have made it better, but it was still excellent.  I served it over brown rice, and added a few cashews on top.

Upon taking stock of my veggie drawer since my next pickup is only two days away, I decided to turn both of the cucumbers into pickles, and froze more zucchini and chard that I didn’t think I’d get to before pickup day.  Some of the Tropea onions went into our Sloppy Joe dinner tonight.  I ate up the last of my shredded cabbage, and am hoping for more soon.  But what I was very happy with today was what I did with the beets I still had:  Baked Beet Chips, the recipe for which I found after a quick search at Tastespotting from Naturally Ella.  For slicing, I didn’t have a mandolin so I used the thin slicer attachment on my food processor, and I did not peel them.  The first batch I burned a bit, but the second batch was perfect.  Certainly a fun way to eat beets, and very easy to make, especially if you don’t peel them.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anna Barker on August 5, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    Further along the trail on the quest for excellent eggplant, check out Mark Bittman’s advice at: http://www.kitchendaily.com/2010/07/08/eggplant/. Both of the recipes at the bottom of the page sound so good; but more importantly, he gives some great advice on what to do with eggplant (eg, “lots of oil”), in case you’re stuck again at the last minute with time or inclination to follow a recipe. Now we have to hope that we get more eggplant in our share! – Anna

    Reply

  2. Ahhhhhhh, after reading Mark Bittman’s article, I see that I didn’t use enough oil and I didn’t saute it nearly long enough. I want to give it another try! Thanks, Anna. –dianne

    Reply

Leave a Reply

