CSA Share for 2010 Week Eight

Has anyone tasted the watermelon in this week’s share?  FanTAStic!  Also, the pick-your-own beds are coming along well and will soon be ready for us:  okra, hot peppers, tomatillos, husk cherries, and cherry tomatoes.   My husband uses the okra to make gumbo.  I’ve learned to love the tomatillos, and one of my favorite ways of using them on cooler days is in Crockpot Taco Soup.  New in our share this week is garlic, which I was happy to see since I was just about out of my store-bought stuff.  This is nice, fresh garlic that really is far better than in the store where you sometimes can get garlic that’s past its prime.  So, on to this week’s share list:

  • basil
  • carrots
  • cucumber
  • garlic
  • kale (although there were three other greens choices–did anyone try the dino kale?)
  • lettuce
  • summer squash
  • Tropea onions
  • watermelon

We had some of the delicious watermelon with our dinner last night.  I had put it in the fridge right when I got home from pickup, so it was chilled by dinner, which made it very refreshing.  The summer squash got oven-baked, which is a great way to use these on busy pickup days because it’s so easy and quick.  Since I got a huge bunch of kale, I plan on making kale salad today, but will still have a lot of leftover kale to try the Kale and Avocado Salad listed in this week’s newsletter.  Most of the basil will be turned into more pesto (using that fresh garlic); I love having a lot of pesto in the freezer for easy pesto pasta dinners later on in the fall.

Leave a Reply

