CSA Share, Week Eight, Day Five

I was going to make kale salads last week, but instead used most of my kale in a Thai-style dish I’ve been enjoying lately.  The recipe is from the blog Abundance on a Dime, and I’ve made it a few times now since I and my family really like it.  This time I replaced the called-for broccoli with my kale and Tropea onions, and used lots of my carrots.  It also calls for garlic cloves, which we have from the farm now.  I omitted the green onions because I didn’t have any on hand, and I went easy on the cayenne.  Definitely try this dish; it really makes for a nice change of pace.

Lunch today was kale, onion and cheese tortilla pizza (recipe to be posted this weekend), which took care of almost everything left in my veggie drawer except a bunch of carrots.  I’m picking up my share today instead of Wednesday this week, so my veggie drawer is now ready and waiting for tonight’s load.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Marywinzlo on August 24, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    Thanks for the Thai-style pasta recipe. I took your advice and substituted kale for the broccoli. I also decided
    to grate my carrots rather than slicing them. I sauteed an onion until it was really soft and then started adding the kale in batches and finally added the carrots for the last few minutes. I added this to the pasta (which I increased to one pound because I had lots of veggies) and it was awesome! There was plenty of sauce for
    the increased pasta and large amount of veggies, and it heats up well – I have lunches for the whole week.
    I’m going to try the Indian okra recipe tonight, I hope I’ll become a fan as well.

    Reply

    • I’m so glad you tried it and liked it! It’s now become a regular dinner at our house. Grating the carrots is a good idea; I’ll try that next time. Let me know what you think of the okra dish.
      –dianne

      Reply

Leave a Reply

