CSA Share for 2010 Week Nine

Here in New England, the farmers NEED rain!  When we keep getting all the beautiful veggies week after week, it can be easy for me to forget that there’s a ton of work going on in the fields every day keeping everything watered and lush.  After 12 years, I think that I treasure every veggie, but I find that I still need to be continually reminded that it’s not so easy, and that makes me realize all over again how precious these veggies are and how much I truly love my farmers.

We are on vacation this week, so I picked up my share early and worked at preserving most of it, while giving some away to friends.  In this week’s share is:

  • basil
  • beets
  • broccoli
  • cucumbers
  • kale
  • kohlrabi
  • lettuce
  • peppers
  • summer squash
  • tomatoes
  • watermelon

I made the best salad out of the lettuce, broccoli, cucumbers, peppers and tomatoes (with Balsamic Vinegar Dressing), and took it on the road with us.  What a treat!   Also, I did pick a few delicious cherry tomatoes and brought them to snack on; I can’t wait till they really start kicking in.   Also from the pick-your-own beds, in this week’s farm newsletter is a recipe for Indian Okra, which I am really looking forward to trying.  I remember years ago a recipe in the newsletter for Cabbage with Indian Spices, which became one of my favorite dishes, so I have high hopes for this current recipe.  I would be very interested to hear if anyone has made any successful dishes using okra.

Try the Pasta with Lentils and Kale recipe from epicurious.com.  I made it last night and had the leftovers for lunch today, although instead of lentils, I mixed in white navy beans.  Also, sauteing the onions for a long time is the way to go.  Yum!

Leave a Reply

