CSA Share for 2010 Week Eleven

It is finally sunny outside this morning after those nice three days of rain.  I’m thinking the veggies are going to go wild with happiness!  Feels like summer once again, although I really liked having the cool-weather-induced motivation to cook heartier dishes such as crockpot stew and lots of bread.  However, it’s back to lighter fare tonight.

In my share this week is:

  • basil
  • cantaloupe
  • green peppers
  • kale
  • onions
  • potatoes
  • summer squash
  • tomatoes
  • pick-your-own hot peppers, parsley, and okra

As usual, last night (share pickup night) I oven-baked the summer squash along with some of last week’s potatoes.  I was glad to see the basil bunch this week, since I’ve lately had a hankering for pesto pasta and will make that for dinner tonight.    I did pick a bunch of hot peppers, and will do as this week’s newsletter suggests:  seed and chop them, then freeze.  And, I picked even more okra than last week, and will make more of that delicious Indian okra, but will chop and freeze some as well.

Even though it no longer feels like “stew weather,” keep this in mind next time it gets chilly.  I made a crockpot stew over the weekend, which makes good use of the farm potatoes, onions, and carrots.  I used Jamie Oliver’s Beef and Ale Stew recipe for inspiration, but made some changes, such as potatoes instead of the celery, and plain water instead of the ale (I did make it last winter with the ale, though).  You could also use broth or stock if you think the ale would be too strong a flavor.  I cooked it all in my crockpot for about 5 hours on high.  I have not yet tried the accompanying dumplings given in Jamie’s recipe.

If for some reason you don’t get to all of the melon, don’t let it go to waste.  Just cut it up, put it in a bag, then freeze, as it will come in handy for smoothies in the future (see third paragraph of a previous post of mine for smoothie idea).  Also, here’s something to try:  what really helps me make the most of my share is to write out a list of the veggies I currently have, and put it on the counter.  I can then easily see the veggies that I need to eat up, without rummaging through the bags in my veggie drawer.  Quite efficient!

Leave a Reply

