CSA Share for 2010 Week Twelve

New this week, and a first in our CSA shares, are Purple Viking potatoes.  I have never tried them before, and am looking forward to it.  In this week’s farm share:

  • Asian melons
  • garlic
  • greens (I chose kale)
  • lettuce
  • onions
  • potatoes (I chose the Purple Viking)
  • summer squash
  • tomatoes

Both the colcannon and the pureed kale recipes from this week’s newsletter sound great, and I made a half-batch of the pureed kale today.  Check it out:

That is SO green, so you know it’s gotta be good for you!  The spices are perfectly called for: I really liked the slight curry flavor and the tiny touch of cayenne.  Changes I made to the recipe were using water instead of broth because I had no broth on hand, and adding a large dollop of cream cheese before I pureed the mixture.  I think it’s very good, and I’m glad I have some leftover for tomorrow.  The other half of the kale bunch will be used for in the colcannon sometime this weekend.  This far into the CSA season, I’m always looking for new ways to prepare the greens and these two recipe ideas fit the bill.

Be sure to make a point of trying the pick-your-own husk cherries.  The trick is to find the ones whose paper husks are brown and dry, and have even fallen on the ground.  When you find the ones that are very ripe and warmed by the sun, they are soooooo goooood.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Marywinzlo on September 14, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    I, too have been enjoying those husk cherries (also known as ground cherries or cape gooseberries). I found this recipe on line and made it last week when I picked a bunch. The nice thing is that the recipe only calls for
    a cup of them, so you don’t need a lot. I served it to my girlfriends this weekend on French Toast and it was a hit! I also think it would be great on pancakes, yogurt or vanilla ice cream. I picked more last night so I could make it again. http://www.food.com/recipe/sticky-gooseberry-sauce-for-the-soul-200911

    Reply

    • Whoaaaa…this recipe sounds good. All I’ve done so far is eat them plain. I especially like your idea of adding the sauce to yogurt. I’m going to try it this week. Thanks for the info!
      –dianne

      Reply

Leave a Reply

