Curried Zucchini Soup

While on vacation in Minnesota this summer, I found this recipe in a Minneapolis newspaper.  Since I’ve been on a curry-kick lately, I thought I’d give it a try.  I didn’t have any broth on hand, so I used water instead, and I put in more curry than was called for;  I don’t recommend this.  It would have been much better if I had just followed the recipe!

Curried Zucchini Soup

  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 large onion, halved and thinly sliced
  • 1 Tbsp curry powder
  • Sea salt
  • 4 small zucchini, halved lengthwise and cut into 1-inch dice (I used both zucchini and yellow summer squash)
  • 1 quart vegetable broth

Heat oil in large pot.  Stir in onion, curry powder and salt.  Cook, stirring, until onion is tender.  Stir in zucchini.  Cook until tender.  Add vegetable broth.  Bring to a boil. Cover.  Reduce heat to low.  Simmer for 20 minutes.  Remove soup from heat.  Transfer in batches to blender, or use stick blender.  Blend until almost smooth.

Leave a Reply

