CSA Share, Week Thirteen, Day Five

No new recipe posted this weekend.  Instead, I thought I would go through the list of last week’s veggies and show you what I did with most of them, which might inspire you to take action before something in your veggie drawer gets away from you.

Basil:  I made pesto pasta for dinner one night last week.  I didn’t take a photo for you, but…it was green.  😉

Bell peppers:  These were chopped and added to our tuna salad sandwiches this weekend, and we ate the rest fresh.

Broccoli:      All of the broccoli went into the Thai-style pasta dish that I talked about in a previous post.  Don’t forget that, with very fresh broccoli such as this, you can peel the stalk, chop it, and add it to your recipe.  The farm melon on the side was a great extra touch.  (Click on photo for larger view.)

Chinese cabbage and leeks: I made the cabbage and leek dish that I mentioned in my last post.  I liked it, and it was even better the next day for lunch with chopped Honey Crisp apples on the side.

Summer squash:  I pureed (chopped and food-processed with a little water) all four of my medium-sized summer squash/zucchini, then used 1 cup of the puree to make Chocolate Zucchini Muffins that I mentioned in a previous post.  I froze the other 1 cup of the puree to make future muffin baking easy.

Crenshaw melon:  This melon was delicious!  Perfectly ripe.  I find the easiest way to carve it is to cut off both ends, then stand it up on one of its ends and cut away the rind.  Then I cut it in half and scoop out the seeds.  All that’s left after that is to cut the flesh into chunks.

Onions:  These will go into our crockpot stew for tonight, with potatoes and carrots (hooray…we can finally start cooking cold-weather foods again!!).   See my previous post for more on stew-making.

Tomatoes:  We ate these freshly cut up, and in sandwiches.

Pick-your-own:  We’ve been eating a little of the parsley fresh, but today I will wash the rest and freeze it for winter use in soups, etc.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anna Barker on September 15, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    You go! These ideas are great, and the inventory is a great idea, too! I feel like I’ve let everything go this year – just too busy! But that’s the good thing about farm life, “there is always next year.” We did have a lovely summer casserole last week: You basically saute your favorite vegetables and season as desired (I chose fresh basil, salt, cumin and oregano). Turn off heat, then stir in mild shredded cheese to melt. Then make a custard out of eggs and either buttermilk or yogurt – pour that over the veggies in an ovenproof casserole dish (greased), and bake at 375 for half an hour. It’s a favorite, and you can vary it endlessly. Still wish I’d done better this year, though~! xoxo

    Reply

    • Hey Anna! Thanks for the encouragement! Thanks, too, for the summer casserole idea; I always appreciate a recipe that can make use of whatever veggies I have on hand. And just remember that life comes at us in phases: sometimes we cook, sometimes we can’t. Here’s hoping next year for you is a cooking year!
      –dianne

      Reply

Leave a Reply

