CSA Share for 2010 Week Fourteen

Wow, I am quite behind in posting about Week Fourteen’s share!  Life gets busy when school starts for the year.  However, I did have time to make up some interesting dishes, but first, here’s what was in our share last week:

  • beets
  • bok choi
  • broccoli
  • garlic
  • green beans
  • leeks
  • onions
  • potatoes
  • summer squash
  • tomato
  • pick-your-own husk cherries, parsley, and cherry tomatoes

The beets and bottom half of the bok choi are still awaiting their fate in my veggie drawer.  Tomorrow night I plan on making some type of Asian dish with the bok choi bottom-half, and  last week I blanched and froze the top half (greens).  With the summer squash, I pureed them all and froze in 1 cup amounts to add to my stash for later use in Chocolate Zucchini Muffins (see my previous post).  The green beans are great to just snack on fresh throughout the week.

With the leeks and the potatoes, I made a lovely Creamy Leek and Potato Soup from allrecipes.com.  It was fast, easy, and very delicious.  Substitutions I used were vegetable broth instead of the chicken broth, butter instead of the margarine, and whole milk instead of the heavy cream.  I topped mine with lots of pepper and of course some farm parsley.  This recipe made enough leftovers for a few days, and is quite rich-tasting, so you don’t need a lot to feel satisfied.

Another recipe I tried over the weekend was Sticky Gooseberry Sauce for the Soul from food.com, which a member recommended in the comments of a previous post.  I learned from her that husk cherries are also called cape gooseberries.  This sauce was so good, very sweet, and a nice topping for waffles and plain yogurt.  It reminded me of marmalade.  I only had 1/4 cup of the cherries, so had to pare down the recipe, but I found I didn’t need too much anyway since it was so very sweet.  Also, I didn’t have any apple juice or pineapple juice, so I replaced the juice with some grated apple (since it is the season and I have plenty of those around!).

A recipe I’ve been making for years is Ellie Kreiger’s  Creamy Broccoli Slaw, which is the best way I’ve found to use the stalks of broccoli.  I feel so healthy when I eat this slaw!  I add a little brown rice vinegar to this recipe, and sometimes omit the buttermilk for a thicker result.  Many times I need to pare down this recipe if I only have one or two small broccoli bunches on hand.

Leave a Reply

