CSA Share, Week Fourteen, Day Seven

Yesterday, I tried Baked Beet-and-Carrot Burgers from Farmer John’s Cookbook, which used up all the beets from last week’s share (just click on photo for larger view).  I own this cookbook, but did find it online here.  I was a bit skeptical of this recipe, but since I hate frying anything and these burgers are baked, I thought I’d try it.  And I’m glad I did!  I think they’re fantastic; they’re absolutely loaded with good stuff.  However, I was a bit confused when I was supposed to “shape the mixture” into patties, because the mixture would not stay together.  So I just placed them in mounds on the cookie sheet and pressed them down with the back of the spoon into a patty shape. Upon baking, they come together very nicely and can be removed easily and intact with a spatula.  I made these into 21 smaller-sized patties, so it made a lot!  A bit time-consuming, but I froze the patties and now have a nice supply in the freezer.

Today, I reheated a couple frozen patties at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes.  Some curry mayo, farm lettuce, and a side of farm cherry tomatoes and parsley made for a delicious lunch.

Leave a Reply

