Six-Minute Chocolate Cake

We had BIG fun at the farm party last night!  The food there was out-of-this-world delicious, as usual.  One thing I brought to the party was a plate of chocolate cake, using this Six-Minute Chocolate Cake recipe from The Moosewood Collective.  (You can also read my write-up on it here from an old, abandoned blog of mine.)  I’ve been making this for years, and it’s the easiest and most quickly-prepared “from scratch” cake ever.  I always skip the glaze and just drizzle with chocolate sauce and dust with powdered sugar.  Enjoy!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anna Barker on October 4, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    BIG fun, yes – tremendously, gigantically, huge! But, boohoo, I somehow missed the chocolate cake. Guess it was already eaten. Guess I’ll have to make my own. The tomatillo salsa was most excellent, though, I must say, as was the music. And all the grilled stuff…especially the chicken wings…no, the spareribs… Back to the reality of Monday now, but first, here is a blog I think you’ll really love: http://www.foodiewithfamily.com/blog/. I stumbled upon it. She is doing some sort of food buzz competition, so I voted for her; maybe you will, too. XOXO – AB

    Reply

    • Yes, indeed, the music-making was extra fun and went long into the evening! I somehow missed the dish you brought…what was it and do you have the recipe to share with me? Thanks for the new foodie blog for me to explore; I popped over there real quick (great pics, and pretty impressive project being that she has all those BOYS), but look forward to spending some time there looking around.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Anna Barker on October 5, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    We lost our electricity the afternoon before the party! I had been planning to make these green chile enchiladas: http://simplyrecipes.com/recipes/green_chile_enchiladas/ (with green chiles from the Westford farmers market, couldn’t pass them up!). But I ran out of time, and so I put together a flatbread pizza with pesto and cherry tomatoes. I already had the dough, so it was pretty fast. …I had better make the enchiladas, soon, though, because the chiles are turning red in the fridge!

    Reply

    • Oh, so I DID try your dish, the flatbread pesto pizza. Very yummy (I adore pesto), and good to have a pizza-ey dish on the table. Thanks for this enchilada recipe; I picked more tomatillos last night at the farm, and I AM going to make these this weekend.

      Reply

  3. Posted by Anna Barker on October 8, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    I am not as hearty as you, I guess, since I didn’t even *consider* standing out picking in Wednesday’s rain! I really hope I get a chance to pick some more tomatillos for salsa, which I would love to have enough of to freeze. Also, reading these comments over, I realise that I still have not made these enchiladas! Thus we are entering mid-October, the season of regret. There will be other summers, right? And meanwhile, there is Thanksgiving to look forward to – High Holiday for all dedicated home cooks! 🙂

    Reply

  4. That’s pretty funny, in a sad sort of way, because I, too, have not made the enchiladas…yet. So many recipes, so little time. Now it’s time for one last push this week to cook and preserve all I picked up yesterday and all that is still in my veggie drawers. And, yes, there WILL be another summer next year! After a winter of “rest,” we can all try again to max-out the season.
    –dianne

    Reply

Leave a Reply

