CSA Share for 2010 Week Seventeen

I picked up my share in the rain yesterday and got soaked, but I was determined to spend time in the pick-your-own patches.  I filled up on cherry tomatoes, tomatillos, parsley, hot peppers, and basil.  In our share this week:

  • beets
  • bell peppers
  • bok choi
  • eggplant
  • garlic
  • kale
  • onions
  • potatoes
  • pick-your-own cherry tomatoes, tomatillos, parsley, hot peppers, and basil

The pick-your-own basil was an extra-special treat, because I had wanted to fill up my basil-leaf freezer bag before the season ended so I could have some on hand to make my Simple Marinara Sauce (now that the fresh tomatoes are gone, you can use canned tomatoes instead of fresh in this recipe).  And, through a member’s comment from one of my last posts, I now know what I’m going to do with all my tomatillos this weekend:  make Green Chile Enchiladas.   These look GOOD.  Since I didn’t think the cherry tomatoes were going to last that long on my counter, I just ground up and froze my batch because (I can’t help myself) I NEED to make more of that eggplant parmesan (see my previous posts) this weekend; this will also take care of the eggplant we received in our shares.

Keep in mind that you can oven-bake our potatoes similarly to the summer squash:  chop potatoes into bite-sized pieces and toss them in olive oil, garlic powder, salt, and pepper, and then spread on a baking pan and baked at 425 degrees for about 20 minutes or so.  I did this last night and they really turned out delicious.  It’s a fast and easy way to prepare those potatoes.  No need to peel these since the skin is so very thin; just scrub well.

Other than the chile recipe, I have no new recipes to try, so if you have anything interesting that you are going to cook this weekend, do let me know!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anna Barker on October 8, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    Here is a recipe for you, “Inside out Pork Dumplings,” using our bok choy. I’ve made it twice now, so I hope I haven’t shared it already in an ealier comment. http://www.pinkofperfection.com/2010/10/inside-out-pork-dumplings/
    It’s from Whole Living magazine, but is copied (and attributed) quite nicely on this blog. You can really fiddle with this recipe a lot: I used a pound of ground pork (double the recipe) and as much of our bok choy, sliced, as the pot would hold; but I kept the quantities of the other ingredients the same; and substituted rice vinegar for the plain…you get the idea. It was quite good, and much simpler than playing origami with those wonton wraps. (By the way, you’ll find them in the produce/tofu section of our mainstream grocery stores.) Oh, I am going to miss the summer! – AB

    Reply

  2. I love, love, love this recipe! I adore those wonton-wrapper dumplings, but hardly ever make them because it takes hours to make them the traditional “origami” way, and steam them one batch at a time. I am SO going to try this with my fresh bunch of bok choi I got yesterday in our share. Thank you!!
    –dianne

    Reply

Leave a Reply

