CSA Share for 2010 Week Eighteen

Well, that’s all folks.  😦  No more pickups.  This week is dedicated to cooking and preserving all that is in my veggie drawer, knowing that these farm veggies are even more precious now.  In our share this week:

  • bok choi
  • cauliflower
  • garlic
  • greens (I chose Winterbor kale)
  • leeks
  • onions
  • potatoes
  • winter squash
  • pick your own cherry tomatoes, tomatillos, herbs, and hot peppers.

New this week is cauliflower and winter squash.  I really haven’t done much with cauliflower besides steaming and tossing with grated cheese, salt, and pepper.  Since this is the favored way to eat this in my house, I haven’t had much motivation to try anything else.   The winter squash is great to have since it will last awhile on my counter, giving me time to take care of the other veggies first.

Through a reader comment from my last post, I learned of a great recipe for our bok choi:  Inside-Out Pork Dumplings.  The strength of this recipe lies in drastically cutting dumpling-making time, but still retaining the flavor of those delicious dumplings.  I have not tried making this recipe yet, but certainly plan on it and will let you know how it turns out.

Although pickups are no more, I would still like to keep this blog going lightly over the winter, posting any good recipes that I happen to try (it’s my way of not having to say goodbye… 😉 ).  I would LOVE to hear about any recipes that you try out as well!

Leave a Reply

