Butternut Squash Soup — A Multitude of Recipes

Since our CSA season is over, I have been visiting my local farm stand (which is open till Thanksgiving) to eek out the last veggies of the season, and of course the highlight now is winter squash in all varieties and colors.  I’d like to broaden my squash horizons, but am continually drawn to the familiar butternut squash.  So, since I stocked up on butternuts during last weekend’s visit, I’ve been exploring the many varieties of soup that can be made out of them.

The first soup I tried was Spicy Butternut Ginger Soup, from a library copy of a fairly new cookbook called Love Soup by Anna Thomas (pictured above).    This soup was more complex than I usually make, and I was able to use some potatoes and frozen parsley that I still had left from our farm.  (She also has a complete chapter on Green Soups, which will be most helpful in using up a lot of my frozen farm greens.)

Curried Butternut Squash Soup by Ellie Krieger has been a standard recipe of mine over the years, and I’m sure to make this before too long.  Below are many links to other squash recipes I’ve found online that look intriguing:

Butternut Squash Soup at foodnetwork.com.  This looks nice and simple, and the nutmeg makes it a good choice for Thanksgiving-time.

Crockpot Butternut Squash Soup at crockpot365.blogspot.com.  This is one for crockpot fans, and calls for even more of those holiday spices than the above recipe.

Coconut Curry Butternut Squash Soup at noteatingoutinny.com.  The addition of coconut milk to this soup got me VERY interested.

Squash Soup by Alton Brown at foodnetwork.com.  This recipe has you roasting the squash first.  It also calls for 4 ounces of heavy cream (whoooaaaa…..).

Try one of these and let me know how it turns out!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anna Barker on November 19, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    So glad to see that you are still writing, even in the off season! Here is my all-time favorite butternut squash soup recipe: http://www.cabotcheese.coop/pages/recipes/recipe.php?id=186. It’s from Cabot Cheese, so naturally has both sour cream and cheddar in it…so even though this version is “reduced fat,” it is a “sometimes treat.” :0
    But I picked up quite a few winter squashes from the farmstand down the road, so I am happy to see all of your soup recipes. Any ideas for what to do with this giant blue hubbard?
    Happy Thanksgiving! – AB

    Reply

  2. That Cabot squash soup looks rich and utterly delicious…a must try! Funny you should mention the giant Blue Hubbard, because I was just reading about them a bit in the book I mentioned above (Love Soup). She has a whole chapter on winter squash soups, and mentioned that the larger the Blue Hubbards are, the more flavorful they are. She says, don’t be afraid of them! Let me know the fate of yours. Thanks for your words, and Happy Thanksgiving to you too! –dianne

    Reply

Leave a Reply

