Cookbooks to Peruse…

Happy New Year to you all!  I really love these less-hectic January days to go through cookbooks, old and new, and get ideas for the upcoming CSA season, as well as discovering and re-discovering good mid-winter dishes.  I find myself already dreaming of those fresh farm veggies coming in June as I read through the recipes.  Below I’ve listed some of my favorite cookbooks (in no particular order).  Some of these books I own, and others (the newer ones) I’ve checked, and re-checked, out of my library, so give these a try at your library. Over the upcoming weeks, I plan on posting the results of my recipe trials from these books.

Moosewood Restaurant Cooking for Health by The Moosewood Collective.  Full of ideas for a healthy new year.

Love Soup by Anna Thomas.  A whole cookbook on (mostly) soups.

Heart of the Artichoke and Other Kitchen Journeys by David Tanis. Basic, simple ingredients and down-to-earth cooking.

The Food Matters Cookbook by Mark Bittman.  Practical ideas on eating more veggies and grains.  Has a very interesting Appetizers and Snacks section.

Feeding the Whole Family by Cynthia Lair. A classic in my collection and my first whole-foods cookbook.

Farmer John’s Cookbook, The Real Dirt on Vegetables by Farmer John Peterson and Angelic Organics. Unusual and quirky, by one of the first CSA farmers in the United States.  (I was tipped off to this book by our CSA farmer!)

Moosewood Restaurant Cooks at Home by The Moosewood Collective. This is older than the Moosewood book mentioned above, and has recipes that I’ve used over and over again.

The Food You Crave by Ellie Krieger. A great book for making your favorites, but using healthier ingredients.

Let me know your favorite cookbooks!

Leave a comment