CSA Share for 2011 Week Three

In our farm newsletter this week, member Mary talked about how to stay on top of your veggies by making a post-pickup list; I certainly second that.    I’ll even carryover onto my list the veggies that I didn’t get to the previous week.  It’s so much easier to glance at a list on my counter rather than dig through my veggie drawer.  In our share this week:

  • lettuce
  • kale
  • kohlrabi
  • extra garlic scapes
  • pick your own herbs

Kohlrabi…what can I say?  The only way I eat it is raw, sliced into sticks.  If you want recipe ideas, I’ve had good luck over the years with other veggies at allrecipes.com or epicurious.com (which even has a recipe titled Sauteed Kale with Kohlrabi…perfect for this week).  I am always glad to see the first kohlrabi in our shares; it reminds me of eating it from my dad’s garden when I was a kid in Minnesota.

We got a big and beautiful bunch of kale this week.  Our newsletter has three kale recipes, and Farmer Anne and I seem to be on the same page with one of them, the Kale Salad.  It’s very similar to my Kale Salad post from last year.  And I know I keep harping on about making sure to freeze your extra greens, but…FREEZE YOUR EXTRA GREENS!!  Frozen kale is my top choice for my Crockpot Greens and Beans that I make weekly when winter comes to New England.

Since we were out of town last week, I had frozen some of our spinach from our Week One pickup and, along with frozen peaches, blueberries, a banana, orange juice, and some honey, made a smoothie with it yesterday.  Several years ago, a member explained “green smoothies” to me, and I’ve been making them ever since, using any type of greens.  These smoothies are a perfect way to eat your greens during the really hot weather, when you don’t want to stand over a pan for even a few minutes to saute them.

Leave a Reply

