CSA Share for 2011 Week Seven

The kohlrabi in this week’s share is phenomenal!  It is so mild and crisp, I could hardly stop eating it.  If your kids are less-than-enthusiastic, have them try dipping it in some ranch dressing.  In our share this week:

  • broccoli
  • swiss chard
  • summer squash
  • cucumbers
  • pickling cucumbers
  • kohlrabi
  • tomatoes
  • cabbage
  • green beans

What to do with all those cucumbers?  Instead of putting up more pickles, make a tasty, refreshing Cucumber Yogurt Dressing for your salads.  Just combine the following in a blender:  1 small cucumber, 1 cup plain yogurt, 1 tsp lemon juice, lots of chopped garlic scapes, a little salt, and a little olive oil.  Whir it all up and store it in a glass jar in the fridge.  The batch I made was a little runny, so I suggest trying Greek yogurt in yours.

Speaking of pickles, to make preparing the next batch easy, just re-use the pickling liquid.  We finished a jar today, and instead of tossing the liquid, I just cut up my pickling cukes from this week’s share and dropped them right into the same jar.  I did the same thing last year and they turned out just fine.

That Asian Cabbage Slaw in this week’s newsletter is a must-try for me (I need a diversion from my usual creamy-type coleslaw).  While you’re there reading the newsletter, check out the piggy poem submitted by one of our members.  Love it!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anna Barker on July 29, 2011 at 9:08 am

    Hey D, just a quick note to thank you for keeping your CSA blog going this year! What a great season and I’m really enjoying our share this year. The cucumbers are amazing and so I’m on a pickle mission. My 16yo is a “hamburger dill chip” fan – no bread & butter for him – so I’m going to give kosher dills a try. There are a few recipes out there, but they seem to be trickier than the ones where you add sugar. Wish me luck! And thanks again! Anna

    Reply

    • Hey Anna! Thanks for the thanks, and good to hear from you! Yes, this is the year of the pickles for me too. I need to branch out, though, and get more daring with my pickle recipes. Let me know if you hit on a good one…
      –dianne

      Reply

Leave a Reply

