CSA Share for 2011 Week Ten

I loved that one hot pepper!  Somehow, getting just the one made it more “savorable.”  Or maybe, after reading the newsletter, we sensed and appreciated its survivalist nature. 😉

In our share this week:

  • kale
  • lettuce
  • swiss chard
  • cucumber
  • summer squash
  • Tropea onions
  • tomatoes
  • garlic
  • and a hot pepper

Ahhhh, Tropea onions.  I’m excited for members who are getting their first taste of these sweet treats.  As Farmer Anne says, they do need to be cooked to bring forth their sweetness.  Some interesting reading on Tropea onions can be found here, where this Italian guy (actually, a first-generation Italian-American living right here in Massachusetts) states that in Tropea, Italy, you can find red onion marmalade, and even red onion gelato!  So, after some searching, I did find a Tropea onion marmalade recipe here.  I haven’t tried it, but let me know if you do.

By the way, I have been diligently pureeing my zucchini and summer squash, pouring them in one-cup portions in a ziploc bag, and storing them in my freezer.  This will simplify my winter-time baking of these delicious and somewhat healthy Zucchini Brownies.  The recipe actually calls for two cups of grated zucchini, but since I always make half-batches, I freeze in one-cup portions, and I find that pureeing (rather than grating) the zucchini in a blender is easier and works just as well.  If your blender is a bit stubborn getting started on the zucchini, start with just a few chunks and a little bit of water, and when those get going, slowly add the remaining chunks.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anna Barker on August 22, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    You reminded me of a recipe I have buried somewhere, “Fast Zucchini Soup,” that calls for grated zucchini. I will look it up to share. (Or did I last year?) I have frozen zucchini in the past for zucchini bread, but it never occurred to me that I can freeze it in portions for the soup, too. Hmmm. Also, have you taken the time to pick some of the cherry tomatoes? They are just bursting at the seams, and pretty much every color of the rainbow. I picked a quart, some of each variety so I could take a pretty picture…but by the time I got home from work the next day, the kids had snacked on them all! Oh well – a happy tragedy! Anna

    Reply

    • I haven’t seen your Fast Zucchini Soup recipe yet but would love to; if you want to share it here and do it as part of a guest post by you, I would love that! Yes, those cherry tomatoes are simply amazing. I always miss them so much after they’ve gone away for the season. Hopefully they’ll last another week and you can work fast and try again to get your pretty pic! –dianne

      Reply

Leave a Reply

