Bonus Non-Veggie Post: There’s Still Time for Blueberry Pie

I’ve always been afraid of making homemade blueberry pie.  I thought it would be too difficult and not worth the effort.  But yesterday, my son proved me way wrong, making the most delicious blueberry pie ever.

Alton Brown’s blueberry episode was his inspiration, and he then went online to find a homemade pie crust recipe with video.  I was in charge of buying the ingredients, and found fresh blueberries at our local fruit farm for an end-of-the-season bargain price.  Alton’s recipe calls for tapioca flour, which I finally found at Market Basket in the Bob’s Red Mill section.  He skipped the freezing of the blueberry mixture step in Alton’s recipe since time was of the essence and it was very important 😉 to have it for dessert after lunch.

Very shortly, all the fresh farmstand blueberries will be gone, leaving me to hope that all will go well using frozen blues.   So, give a homemade blueberry pie a try, and maybe you’ll be as pleasantly pleased as I was.   I will no longer have my blueberry pie any other way.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Looks awesome, I adore blueberry pie!

    Reply

  2. Thanks for stopping by, and be sure to give the pie a try. I’ll be trying some of your recipes, starting with those awesome-looking Chocolate Chunk Cookies!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

