CSA Share for 2011 Week Fifteen

Only a little over a week until the fantabulous Bear Hill Farm Party!  I’m already dreaming of the incredible dishes that are always crowded onto the tables.  One of my favorite things is the ever-changing selections throughout the night; every time I re-visit the food tables, it’s a new adventure.  This party is definitely not to be missed.

In our share this week:

  • kale
  • collards
  • leeks
  • carrots
  • onions
  • garlic
  • pick your own basil
Here’s a recipe to try that uses our garlic and onions:  a quick Dal Makhani.  I always order this dish when my husband and I go to my favorite Indian restaurant.  Even though this quick dal recipe doesn’t hold a candle to my restaurant’s version, it’s tasty and healthy.  Ingredient variations I used were 2 Tbsp tomato paste instead of tomato pulp and whole milk instead of low-fat milk, plus I added some butter which made my version a not-so-lowfat dal.  Also, the recipe calls for ginger-garlic paste, which I made by simply mashing up some ginger pieces and a small garlic clove together.    Of course this dish would be the best served over rice, but all I had pre-made were rotini noodles.  Oh well.
Now I’m off to make mega-batches of pesto with all that basil!
2 responses to this post.

  1. I just stumbled on your blog, and all this information is so helpful! I have been thinking about joining a CSA. Do you find that sometimes the pick of the week can be a problem for picky eaters? I don’t want to join a CSA and then wind up wasting most of it.

    Reply

    • Hi there and welcome! I’m so glad to hear that the info has been helpful. When you first join a CSA, the unfamiliarity of some of the veggies can be a challenge, and there is a learning curve. But it does push you to learn how to use all of your share. One idea is to start with a half-share if your CSA offers it; that’s a good way to ease into it. When I first became a CSA member 13 years ago, there were types of veggies that I just wouldn’t eat, but now I use them all, so it is a process. And definitely remember to search around on the internet to find recipes for veggies that you aren’t wild about, as this will help you warm up to them. That’s how I learned to like eggplant, arugula, and collards!

      –dianne

      Reply

Leave a Reply

