CSA Share for 2012 Week Five

I was thinking yesterday that it sure seems easy for me to wander up our farm’s path and load up my veggie bags, but I do try and remember that our farmers combine their experience, expertise, good judgement, and a lot of hard work to produce our absolutely outstanding produce.  THANK YOU, guys!!  In our share this week:

  • lettuce
  • swiss chard
  • mizuna
  • red cabbage
  • summer squash/zucchini
  • cucumbers
  • golden beets
  • broccoli

Since there were extras of summer squash, it’s time to share with you my favorite way to enjoy zucchini:  Zucchini Brownies.  I posted over a year ago on these, in which I link to an old farm newsletter from 2007.   Also in the post is a link linking to another post which links to an old newsletter containing a member’s recipe for Chocolate Zucchini Muffins (it takes some clicking around, but it’ll be worth it!).  🙂

If you don’t feel you can get to your cabbage right away, try freezing it using these tips and see what you think.  Speaking of freezing things, I posted last year on freezing cucumbers and when I took them out months later, they were DELICIOUS.  And, if you have tons of garlic scapes still in your veggie drawer like I do, just mince them up, throw ’em in a bag, and freeze.

(Image courtesy of www.FreeDigitalPhotos.net)

Leave a Reply

