CSA Share for 2012 Week Seventeen

When our farmer mentioned squash pie in our newsletter this week, I knew I had to find a recipe and try it.  I’ve made pumpkin pie aplenty, but have never tried, nor even thought of, making squash pie.  Try it with me this week!

In our share this week:

  • kale
  • mizuna
  • onions
  • peppers
  • green beans
  • beets
  • acorn squash
  • buttercup squash

While searching for a delicious-sounding squash pie recipe, I came across the perfect one, Squash Pie, due to its recommendation to use buttercup squash which is in our share this week.  For my pie, I’ll probably use a combination of that recipe and a couple of others:  Winter Squash Pie and Acorn Squash Pie.

If you need ideas for your farm party dish, check out my Recipe Box page.  See you all at the party!

(Image courtesy of www.FreeDigitalPhotos.net)

Leave a Reply

