CSA Share for 2013 Week Seven

I really loved the variety in our share this week, and we even got some delicious fruit!  In our share this week:

  • arugula
  • kale/swiss chard
  • mizuna
  • lettuce
  • green beans
  • cucumbers
  • zucchini/summer squash
  • cabbage
  • peaches
  • apples

How right Farmer Anne is when she says in our newsletter that some members are excited to see the arugula back this week.  I admit I was not a fan at all when I joined our CSA 15 years ago, but now it’s one of my favorites.  The turning point for me was when she wrote in a 2011 newsletter to cook some arugula and cherry tomatoes in olive oil, add hot penne pasta, cheese (I use feta), and lemon juice (see photo above).  I’ve been in love with arugula ever since.  Thanks, Anne!

I’m extra-psyched about the arugula this year because not long ago, I discovered my favorite pizza while eating out one night:  Prosciutto and Fig Pizza with Arugula.  I’ve found an online recipe here, but there are lots of variations out there, so take a look and give it a try.  (You could also make it simpler by adapting it to my Tortilla Pizza recipe.)

Leave a Reply

